March/April 2000, p.17

And the winners are ...

Assemblymember Glick's Chief of Staff at the micBack in December, Transportation Alternatives members gathered at the Puffin Room in SoHo for T.A.'s annual holiday party. Over 150 folks gathered to celebrate the year's accomplishments, talk about the year ahead, give the first annual "Neighborhood Streets Award" and recognize 12 individuals who have made outstanding contributions to T.A. and to better NYC cycling and walking.

State Senator Frank Padavan and State Assemblymember Deborah Glick each received the first-ever Neighborhood Streets Awards for their "service and leadership in winning passage of the New York City Traffic Calming Law." T.A. looks forward to helping both leaders use this new law to save lives and improve the city's neighborhood streets with innovative traffic calming designs.

The evening was capped off with T.A.'s annual volunteer awards. T.A. recognized and thanked:

Senator Padavan shows off his Neighborhood Streets AwardMatt Corey, "T.A. Wordsmith," for his work as lead editor for T.A. magazine
Robert Eberwein, "Century Stalwart and Ironman," for his amazing commitment on the NYC Century Bike Tour
Rich Gans, "Spirit of Cycling," for his work with the T.A. Bronx Chapter
Marcelo Litovsky, "Century Booster," for his stellar fundraising efforts on the NYC Century Bike Tour
Dave Lutz, "Lifetime Achievement Award," for his work as a dedicated greenway advocate
Andrew McConnell and Seth Asher, "Grassroots Action," for their contributions to promote better planning and cycling improvements, especially in Brooklyn
Steve McMaster, "Electronic Bike Guru," for his work creating GIS mapping ability for T.A.
Preston Price, "Corporate Conscience," for his work bringing on Patagonia as a major Century sponsor and T.A. supporter
Karen and Ken Southerland, "Family Achievement," for their dedicated year-round work on multiple T.A. campaigns and events
David Wismer, "Triple Threat," for his work on the NYC Century, T.A. volunteer night and mailing parties all year long.

Thanks too to all who renewed or joined, made an end-of-year donation, contributed to the "bar jar" during the evening or bought raffle tickets. Congrats to longtime T.A. supporters who were our raffle winners: Robert Leung (a tough Timbuk2 messenger bag); Richard Sanford (a racing-quality T.A. cycling jersey) and Susanne Moss (a high-tech top from Patagonia). Last, but certainly not least, special thanks to Carl Rosenstein and the Puffin Room for graciously hosting the festivities.

Why not put yourself in the running for the 2000 awards ... upcoming Volunteer Nights are March 8 & 29; April 12 & 26 (second and last Wednesday of each month) at T.A.